Comic Book Movie Rewatch: V for Vendetta

I really enjoy movies based on comic books, whether they be intentionally comedic like Men in Black, or unintentionally comedic like Ghost Rider. Every time I watch one (or re-watch one) I write up a post with my thoughts. I try to be spoiler free, but the older the movie, the less careful I am. This time it was the extended edition of the 2006 movie V for Vendetta.

VForVendettaV for Vendetta

IMDb Rating: 8.2/10

Rotten Tomatoes critics: 73%

Rotten Tomatoes audience: 90%

My Rating: 9/10

I’m not sure I can say enough good things about this movie. It has action, humor, great acting, great music, likeable characters, stunning visuals, and on and on. It’s one of my all time favorite comic book movies.

It’s not perfect, so I’m going to start with a few of the problems. The first is Natalie Portman’s accent. It’s inconsistent. This is a minor detail, and it’s usually easy to ignore, but there are times that it gets a little distracting. Another small issue is that the tyrannical government in the film is a little too evil. In the comic, it’s a fascist government, but it’s run by people who truly believe that they’re doing what’s best. In the movie that isn’t the case.

The only other problem I really have with the movie is during the fireworks scene at the end. I think that having some characters re-appear as members of the mob diminishes the sacrifices they made during the main story. I get that it’s supposed to show hope, but it’s too heavy handed for my taste.

Pretty much every other part of the movie is fantastic. One of the best parts is Hugo Weaving, who plays V. Throughout the movie you never see his face, but his performance is incredible. Just through his movements and mannerisms he brings a great depth of emotion and vibrancy to the character. It’s fascinating to watch. What impressed me the most as I watched it this time is that the character of V is really an anti-hero. He’s a terrorist that does some absolutely deplorable things throughout the movie, but he’s so charismatic that it’s easy to root for him.

Another great character is Finch, played by Stephen Rea. He’s the real hero of the story, even though he’s more of a side character than a main protagonist for most of the movie. What I liked about him so much is that he’s smart. He tries to stay within the boundaries of his job, but at the same time he works very hard to do the right thing, even if it exposes him an uncomfortable reality. In a movie that’s filled with bad people, he’s one of the few good men in the story.

Aside from the great characters and writing, the visuals and music in the movie are great. The opening bombing set to the 1812 Overture is awesome and sets the tone for the whole movie. The fight scenes are wonderfully choreographed, and when CGI effects are needed, they are subtle enough that they don’t seem dated or out of place.

This is a movie I watch regularly. If you haven’t seen it, then do so. It’s worth the time.

Leave a Reply

