Help Me Pick What to Read Next

I’m a bit stuck in my reading. I’ve finished a couple of series recently (The Odd Thomas series by Dean Koontz and the First Law series by Joe Abercrombie), and now I’m not sure what to read next. I have a few series that I’ve started, but I’m not sure if I want to continue in those, or if I want to abandon them and start a new series. I could also just read stand-alone books for a while.

Anyway, If you have any recommendations, put them in the comments. As of right now, here are a few of the books I’m considering:

New Series

The Riyria Chronicles by Michael J. Sullivan. A co-worker recommended these to me. I don’t know much about the series, and I no longer work with the person who told me about it. I’d be going into these books completely blind.

The Sharing Knife by Lois McMaster Bujold. I really like Bujold and have read most of her works, but I haven’t started this series yet. I’m comfortable with Bujold’s style of writing, but I don’t know anything about the story.

Mither Mages by Orson Scott Card. Card’s really hit or miss with me. I really enjoyed some of his books (like the original Ender series and Enchantment), but I also really despised some of his others (like Wyrms and Empire).

Series I’ve Started

Imperial Radch by Ann Leckie. I read the first book, Ancillary Justice, and I enjoyed it, but haven’t felt much desire to go back into the universe Leckie created. The style is a bit overwhelming as the author breaks a lot of conventions (with purpose, of course), so I’m not sure how easy it will be to jump back into the series after a long hiatus.

Wardstone Chronicles by Joseph Delaney. The first book, Revenge of the Witch, was okay, but I didn’t think it was particularly special. It’s more of a YA fantasy, which can be fun, but it doesn’t seem as memorable as some of the other series I’ve read in the same genre.

Stand-Alone

Have Space Suit—Will Travel by Robert Heinlein. I’ve been picking up some of Heinlein’s youth adventures recently. They’re fun and easy reads, but can have some good depth to them. I tend to go through these quickly, though.

Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen by Lois McMaster Bujold. Technically, this is part of Bujold’s Vorkosigan saga, but from what I gather, it can be considered a stand-alone book within that series. I’ve started this book a few times, but was never in the right mood for it.

Galactic Pot-Healer by Philip K. Dick. I don’t really know anything about this book, but I’ve read Dick before and know that it will be a trip. I prefer his short stories because I find his books a little difficult to get into due to his writing style.

2 thoughts on “Help Me Pick What to Read Next

Leave a Reply

