I Recently Finished Reading: Odd Hours

oddhoursI actually finished this book a while ago, but I’m just now getting to writing about it. (I blame the busy holiday season.)

This book reminded me more of the 2nd book than the others, but it had more  mystery, and wasn’t nearly as linear. I think some of that was because the story revolved around Odd reacting to others actions, rather than setting events in motion himself. That may not be the best way to put it, but it’s all I can come up with.

One of the best parts of this series is how Odd uses his extraordinary abilities to solve problems. He can’t really do anything that affects the world around him, yet he manages to use his gifts to change his situation. The frustrating part of this is that there is no explanation given on how or why Odd has these abilities, and even less information on how new ones develop. This book has Odd gaining new powers, but there doesn’t seem to be any reason for these new abilities except to add complexity to the story. At some point in the series, the author will need to address this, or else Odd’s powers run the risk of just becoming cheap plot devices.

I really liked the characters that were introduced in this book. Annamaria will be an interesting addition. It’s clear that she has some sort of connection to Odd’s lost love, Stormy, but no indication (as of yet) as to what that connection might be. Not only that, but it’s possible, though not explicit, that she has some sort of supernatural ability. Birdie Hopkins is another character with an extraordinary gift. I hope she makes more appearances in the later books.

The addition of characters with similar (if less spectacular) abilities has been a nice change. The gifts are always subtle, but helpful, and give the story the supernatural edge that makes it so interesting. I keep hoping, however, that more answers will come. I don’t necessarily need to know the source of these abilities, or even if they can be used for nefarious purposes (though that wouldn’t surprise me). What I’m really looking for are the rules. Odd’s given a few, but because he doesn’t have any answers for himself, the reader doesn’t either. That gets a little frustrating.

I’ll probably start the next book soon, and I’m looking forward to it. The stakes keep getting bigger, and I’m excited to see what role Odd plays.

Leave a Reply

