Comic Book Movie Rewatch: All-Star Superman

I’ve decided to go back and watch a bunch of movies based on comic books. No real reason, just something I thought would be fun. This time it was the 2011 movie All-Star Superman.

All-Star Superman

all-star-supermanIMDb Rating: 7/10

Rotten Tomatoes audience: 62%

My Rating: 6/10

DC has generally done a really good job with their animated films. This one, however, was a little disappointing. I know that the comic is considered one of the best Superman stories of all time, but I haven’t actually read it, so I can’t compare the movie to the comic.

Technically, the movie is solid. The voice acting and animation are very well done, and while the music wasn’t particularly memorable, it wasn’t distracting either.

The main problem I had with the movie was the numerous plot-lines. The movie’s short, just an hour and fifteen minutes, but there are about four main stories, each only loosely connected to each other. Each segment seemed a little episodic rather than forming a cohesive whole. That kind of works in a movie based on a comic series, but it still left me feeling unsatisfied.

The premise of the movie, that Superman must face his imminent death, is interesting. While it’s not uncommon for superheroes to be invulnerable to the point of immortality, for me, Superman has always been one of the most blatant examples of this. Having a story that gives him no opportunity to avoid his fate was refreshing. I appreciated the relaxed and calm manner in which he went about his business, and that he quickly and readily accepted his situation. That, along with how he chose to spend his remaining time, showed me the kind of Superman I could support. Someone who is comfortable with the decisions he’s made, and has accepted the consequences of his actions.

It was a decent movie. Not among the best of the animated DC films, but it was entertaining. I’ve never particularly liked Superman, but this movie managed to give me a new perspective on him, which I appreciate.

Leave a Reply

