Comic Book Movie Rewatch: Dick Tracy

I’ve decided to go back and watch a bunch of movies based on comic books. No real reason, just something I thought would be fun. This time it was the 1990 movie Dick Tracy.

dick-tracy-posterDick Tracy

IMDb Rating: 6.1/10

Rotten Tomatoes critics: 64%

Rotten Tomatoes audience: 53%

My Rating: 7/10

The first thing that really stood out to me as I started watching the movie was the bright colors. I remembered Dick Tracy’s iconic yellow coat from the first time I saw the movie, but the noir tone of the film somehow muted how vivid the rest of the colors were in my memory. On the same point, the cinematography in this film was wonderful. I normally don’t pay that much attention to it, but it really caught my eye while I was watching, and did so in a way that wasn’t distracting.

There were a lot of things that I really liked about the movie. The casting was excellent. Everyone in the film was fantastic, and what made it even better was that some of the best known actors in the film weren’t recognizable (I’m talking about you Al Pacino). The story is great, and moves quickly while maintaining enough complexity to stay engaging. There was just enough mystery to keep me guessing, even if the outcomes weren’t exactly a surprise. The music was also good, though the Danny Elfman score was a little too similar to Batman (which I later learned he scored around the same time).

There were also some problems with the film. One was that there were just so many characters to keep track of. The main core was easy enough, but there were ten or more peripheral characters that could have been important, and weren’t. Trying to remember who was who became pretty difficult. Another issue with the characters was the prosthetics and makeup. It all looked fantastic, but for some characters is was a little too much and became distracting. I also like a lot of the humor, but there were some places where it really fell flat.

In the end, I really enjoyed rewatching this one, and it’s probably a bit higher on my list of movies that I’ll watch again. I wish I could say that the movie is great, but it doesn’t quite hit that level. It’s really good, and it’s highly entertaining, but it’s not quite great.

Leave a Reply

