I Recently Finished Reading: Odd Thomas

Odd_ThomasThis was one of the few times where I had seen the movie before reading the book, but that’s just because I didn’t know it was a book until after I had seen the movie. I was also surprised to see how closely the movie followed the book. (Though the movie did alter the climax quite a bit, but adding more action to a visual format like film makes a lot of sense.) This is also the first Dean Koontz book I’ve ever read. I had heard good things about him and had considered picking up some of his works before, but somehow never got around to it. I’m glad I finally did.

I really liked the book. It gave me a lot more insight into the characters than the movie, especially the peripheral characters like Chief Porter, Little Ozzie, Terri, Rosalia Sanchez, and especially Odd’s parents. Each of them has their own story that’s woven into the larger narrative and gives a little more insight into Odd’s life. It’s fantastic.

The larger story is excellent as well. It’s hard to pin down exactly what genre the book falls into since it has a little fantasy, a little horror, some mystery, and some action/thriller elements. The nice thing is that they all work together to give the book a unique feel that fits really well with the style of writing and the personality of the protagonist.

Generally, I tend to read two or three books between any two books in a series, but I’ve already started the sequel to Odd Thomas. It’s an excellent book and I’m excited to see where the story goes.

3 thoughts on “I Recently Finished Reading: Odd Thomas

Leave a Reply

