I Recently Finished Reading: The Death Cure

deathCureSo I finally finished the Maze Runner series, and it was okay. The final book in the series wasn’t the strongest, but it was a solid read. I think the biggest issue I had with the book was that I didn’t think the characters grew or changed very much. Thomas is exactly the same at the end of the book as he was at the beginning, even though he went through some significant experiences. I felt the same way about Teresa and Minho. In fact, the most intriguing character in the book was Galley, and he’s barely a part of the story.

Plot wise, this entry was as good as any of the others. The story moves along quickly and has a good mix of action, dialogue, and exposition. The action scenes are well written and vivid. I was a little disappointed in the ending. I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but I thought that the ultimate outcome would have been better if it had been the goal all along, rather than the mediocre twist that it was. I saw it coming pretty early in the book and felt like it made a bit more sense than what the plot was actually driving toward.

I’m not sure I’ll read any more books in the series. I feel satisfied with the main trilogy and the prequel that I’ve read. The series isn’t bad, but I don’t think it really stood out as exceptional.

Leave a Reply

