Comic Book Movie Rewatch: Ant-Man

I’ve decided to go back and watch a bunch of movies based on comic books. No real reason, just something I thought would be fun. This time it was the 2015 movie Ant-Man.

antmanAnt-Man

IMDb Rating: 7.4/10

Rotten Tomatoes critics: 80%

Rotten Tomatoes audience: 87%

My Rating: 7/10

I’m not quite sure what to say about Ant-Man. On one hand, it was very entertaining. On the other hand, I don’t think it was as good as many of the other MCU movies. The story was solid, as was the acting. The humor was good, though maybe a little forced at times, and, with one exception, the visual effects were great.

The problems I had with the movie are more about how it fits into the MCU than with the movie itself. The biggest flaw I saw in the actual film was the opening scene and the de-aging effects. Don’t get me wrong, they were good, but they weren’t quite good enough. For me they landed right in the uncanny valley, where they were realistic enough to make me question if an effect was used at all, but obvious enough to tell that something was very wrong with the actors faces.

I think the decision to go with Scott Lang as the protagonist, rather than Hank Pym, was smart. Bringing in the Falcon as a tie to the Avengers was also smart. There were a lot of moments like that, where the writers were very smart in how they chose to link this film to the wider universe while still letting it stand on its own. Maybe that was one of the problems. The planning was too obvious, and that made it difficult for me to just enjoy the movie.

Leave a Reply

