Comic Book Movie Rewatch: Constantine

I’ve decided to go back and watch a bunch of movies based on comic books. No real reason, just something I thought would be fun. This time it was the 2005 movie Constantine.

ConstantineConstantine

IMDb Rating: 6.9/10

Rotten Tomatoes critics: 46%

Rotten Tomatoes audience: 72%

My Rating: 6/10

This is a decent movie, and enjoyable, but given how little I remembered from my first time watching it, it’s also pretty forgettable.

The premise of the movie is great, though it takes a while to get to it. The opening ew scenes give very little context, and there’s a lot of confusion. Much of that confusion resolves itself quickly, but not all of it. The idea that Constantine is looking for redemption is clear from the start, but the reason he needs redemption isn’t given for quite a while. For me, that really works, but for others that may be really off-putting.

I also really like the tone of the film. It’s pretty heavy on theology, but I think it works in the context of the movie. It’s dark, but includes some lighter moments to break the tension. If done poorly, those light moments can ruin the flow of a movie, but that doesn’t happen here. They’re not so expertly done that they fit seamlessly into the movie, but they don’t distract from it either.

There are some parts that are a little ridiculous. Constantine’s weapons are a stretch, and some of the effects seem to be all flash rather than enhancing the story. I never read the comics, but I know that Keanu Reeves is nothing like the John Constantine in the Hellblazer comics. Since I haven’t read the comics, that didn’t bother me in the slightest, though I could see why fans of the series may not be thrilled with the casting.

I went into the movie expecting it to be a supernatural action film that didn’t take itself too seriously, and the movie delivered. It’s not a great movie, but it’s entertaining.

Leave a Reply

