Comic Book Movie Rewatch: Blade 2

I’ve decided to go back and watch a bunch of movies based on comic books. No real reason, just something I thought would be fun. This time it was the 2002 movie Blade 2.

blade2Blade 2

IMDb Rating: 6.7/10

Rotten Tomatoes critics: 57%

Rotten Tomatoes audience: 68%

My Rating: 4/10

This review will be pretty short. I watched this about a week ago, and when I was thinking of posts I could do this week I almost forgot about it. I’ve seen a lot of people say that Blade 2 is better than the first movie, but to me, it was pretty forgettable.

The movie has a lot of problems, many of them are forgivable, but there are two I want to address. The first is that Whistler dies at the end of the first movie, but apparently he was a really popular character, so the writers contrived some reason to bring him back for the sequel. To make it even worse, they completely destroy continuity to do it. Whistler was killed by Blade because he had been bitten by a vampire and was in the process of turning. In this movie, somehow, he gets a single injection of something or other, and poof, he’s back to being a normal human. It’s a miracle cure! It’s also never used or even mentioned again.

The other big issue I had with the movie is that the visual effects somehow managed to get worse. The effects in the first movie were dated, but okay. The biggest offender was the CGI blood. In this movie, however, there are so many CGI effects, and almost all of them are obvious. The effects in the fight scenes are especially bad. Two of the actors, Snipes and Donnie Yen, are excellent martial artists, they also served as fight choreographers for the film, but so many of the fights seemed so contrived that using CGI made the bad effects stand out even more.

I’m not sure if I’ll subject myself to the third movie. This one may have been enough for this franchise.

Leave a Reply

