Quick Thoughts on ‘Jurassic World’

My wife and I went to go see Jurassic World over the weekend. She had been looking forward to it for months and insisted we see it opening weekend. I was less enthusiastic. It’s not that I expected it to be a bad movie, it’s just that I think it’s pretty rare for sequels (especially those that come 14 years after the previous installment) to be good on their own. Anyway, without any spoilers, here’s what I thought:

Plot:

Decent, but not great. There were no twists or turns in the plot, it just moved from point A to point B. The whole movie felt pretty contrived, almost like even the characters knew what was going to happen next. That’s not a bad thing, the movie was very entertaining, it just didn’t require any thought to follow.

Characters:

Again, the characters were decent, but not great. Chris Pratt stole every scene he was in, but I think that was expected and his character, Owen, was written to allow for that. The biggest disappointment was that, excepting Owen, any of the characters could be replaced without really losing anything. I didn’t feel like they had the same connection or impact as the characters from the original Jurassic Park. If this movie is about reinvigorating the franchise, Owen’s the only character I’d care to see again.

Effects:

I’m really glad that they didn’t exclusively use CGI for the dinosaurs and chose to use animatronics as well, but there were times when it was very apparent which was being used. On the whole, however, Jurassic World had fantastic effects that genuinely contributed to the film, and weren’t just eye candy.

Entertainment:

For me, the most important part of any movie is whether or not it entertains me, and this did. It’s not the kind of movie that I’d want to watch over and over again, but it was definitely worth seeing.

Leave a Reply

