I Recently Finished Reading: Diplomatic Immunity

This will be quick, but I wanted to jot down my thoughts on this installment of the Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMaster Bujold.

I really enjoyed this book. I’ve been slowly going through the Vorkosign books for a few years. They tend to be my default books when I’m looking for something to read but I’m not sure what mood I’m in or I’m not ready to read the next book in another series.

One thing I really like about the series is how Miles ages and matures. In the first few books he’s rash, impulsive, and relies on luck and wits to get himself out of trouble (and into trouble). In Diplomatic Immunity, he’s older, more mature, and recently married. While he still gets into trouble, he does so with more caution, and during the book realizes that his impulsive nature now affects his wife and future children. He has a shift in perspective that’s very appropriate for a character at his point of life. The physical disadvantages that Miles has had his entire life have been fading to the background over the last couple of books, and the emotional issues that have arisen due to his (mis)adventures are coming to the forefront. It’s a nice change and shows the excellent character development that I love in Bujold’s books.

Leave a Reply

