And So It Begins

It’s true. I’ve decided to start blogging. I know, I know, I’m a little late to the game. For the most part, I’ve always been contented with keeping my thoughts and opinions off the internet. I was happy to sit back and observe while others splattered the web with opinions and rants. My wife wasn’t very happy with this, and tried very hard to get me to “positively contribute to the internet.” I resisted and she got mad at me. Eventually she dropped the subject and I went back to my quiet consumption.

Things started to change when I found a certain community blog that covered my favorite sports team. I lurked for quite a while. I would read the posts, and maybe anonymously vote on a poll. Then it happened, I had something I wanted to say. I fought the urge for a while, but finally gave in and signed up. I made my comment then went back to lurking. Not long after that first foray, however, I realized that there was a topic I was interested in that no one else was discussing. I waited for a brief while, but then I had to do it, I had to write my own post. That was back in 2013. I got a good response to that first post, so I gave up my silence and started regularly contributing.

So here we are. I have my own blog. I’m no longer just a member of an online community, I know have a place where all of the content comes from me. I can’t be a lurker here, and that’s a little intimidating. I hope that someone finds my opinion worthwhile. If I’m lucky, I may even get a follower or two outside of my family. I’m not expecting it, but who knows? Anyway, feel free to look around. There won’t be much at the beginning, but this has to start somewhere.

Leave a Reply

